Planetary Health Series

Basics of The Macrobiotic Diet

People who follow the macrobiotic diet seek a healthy way to eat by integrating the spiritual, physical and planetary health. This is a high fiber and at the same time a low-fat diet that is basically vegetarian focusing on the consumption of vegetables and whole grains.

The following are the basics of the diet program:


Fifty to sixty percent each meal will typically generally consist of whole grains. They will most likely include whole wheat berries, brown rice, millet, corn, rye, barley, buckwheat, and other whole grains. You will also have the option of including pasta, noodles, baked goods, bread, and other flour products occasionally in your menu.

You must eat soup. You may eat one to two cups of soup in a given day. Shoyu and Miso soup are commonly used because they are made of fermented soybeans.

Twenty-five to thirty percent of the daily food intake typically is made up of vegetables. Up to 1/3 of the total veggie intake can be eaten raw. On the occasion that it is not, it should be boiled, steamed, sautéed or baked.

Ten percent of the food intake is beans. It will include cooked beans or bean products like tempeh, tofu or natto.

You may also eat animal products. An ample amount of seafood is typically eaten several times a week. Poultry, eggs, meat, and dairy products are usually not recommended. Seafood or fish can be eaten with wasabi, horseradish, mustard, ginger or grated daikon in order to help the body detoxify from the effects of seafood and fish.

Seeds and nuts must be eaten in moderation. You can roast them lightly and season with sea salt or shoyu.

You can consume local fruits several times a week. You may eat pears, apples, apricots, peaches, berries, grapes, melons, and other fruits.

  • Eat desserts in moderation.
  • Use vegetables for cooking.