10 Various Types of Diets

Celiac Disease May Require Gluten Free Diet

Some food grain antigens found in wheat, rye, and barley are thought to create a toxic reaction in those who suffer from celiac disease, gluten intolerance, wheat allergy, and other health problems. Studies have been inconclusive but the gluten intolerance seems based in genetic makeup, especially in people of Northern European descent.

For someone with gluten intolerance, eating foods made with those grains containing gluten, especially wheat, may cause severe gastrointestinal discomfort. Celiac disease commonly requires a gluten-free diet.


The same diet is also recommended for those with gluten intolerance, dermatitis herpetiformis, wheat allergy, and some other health problems.

The recommendation by your physician for a gluten-free should not be taken lightly as the immune response to eating gluten can result in permanent damage to the small intestine of people suffering from gluten intolerance. The need for such a diet is determined by careful medical testing and should not be self-diagnosed.

This may be especially important for children who need to eat a gluten-free diet. Testing should be done before the diet is used or the test may be inconclusive or even incorrect in their results. A person already eating a diet restricting glutens would have to reintroduce the gluten into the diet in order for the test to be accurate. This would cause further and unnecessary discomfort.

Unless you partake of this special diet, you would perhaps be surprised at the foods you would need to avoid. For children who require gluten restrictive diets, it is especially important for the parent to fully understand what food products must be removed from the diet.

Even Playdough, a long time favorite with children, can be a potential problem if put in the mouth or if hands are not washed after playing with the clay. Many restricted products are easy to recognize as they clearly would contain wheat (bread, pasta, etc) but not all products are as easy to categorize.

Among items to avoid on a gluten-free diet are licorace, marinades, herbal supplements, many over the counter medications, broth and soup bases, some syrups. Gluten intolerance is more widespread than many realize and the result is a proliferation of books and websites that contain safe recipes for those confined to this special diet.